#COVID-19-Correspondence between EN standards and China national standards

HOME    Trends    #COVID-19-Correspondence between EN standards and China national standards

With the Covid-19 virus spreading globally, Shenzhen Acare International Industrial Co., Ltd. extends our care and greeting to our friends from all over the world. 

Meanwhile, as demanding for masks from China surges, hereby Acare also presents the difference of Chinese masks standards and correspondence between EN and Chinese standards.

1. Classification and applicable standards of masks in China

Testing standards and their applicable scope of masks are as follows:

a) GB 19083-2010 is for medical protective masks (GB refers to mandatory national standard);

b) GB 2626 -2006 is for industrial protective masks;

c) YY 0469-2011 is for medical surgical masks (YY refers to mandatory standard in pharmaceutical industry);

d) YY/T 0969-2013 is for disposable medical masks (YY/T refers to recommended standard in pharmaceutical industry);

e) GB/T 32610-2016 is for civil masks (GB/T refers to recommended national standard).

Table: Testing standards and their applicable scope



applicable scope

Medical protective mask

GB 19083-2010

Filter particulate matter in the air, and block the droplets, blood, body fluids, secretions, etc. in the medical working environment

Industrial protective masks

GB 2626-2006

Protection from various types of particulate matter

Medical surgical masks

YY 0469-2011

Used by clinical medical staff in the process of invasive operation

Disposable medical masks

YY/T 0969-2013

Used in general medical environments to block the pollutants exhaled and sprayed from the mouth and nose.

Not suitable for medical protective masks, medical surgical masks.

Civil masks

GB/T 32610-2016

Filter particulate matter in the air pollution environment in daily life

2. Correspondence between EN standards and China national standards.

According to EN 149 Respiratory protective devices - Filtering half masks to protect against particles - Requirements, testing, marking, three categories are listed as FFP1、FFP2 and FFP3, and the last two recognized as mainstream products. GB 2626 is similar to it.

According to EN 14683 Surgical Masks—Requirements and test methods, surgical masks are classified into three types, TYPE I, TYPE II and TYPE IIR. TYPE I is applied to patients and ordinary people, while TYPE II and TYPE IIR are applied to medical staff. The Chinese standards of GB 19083、YY 0469-2011 and YY/T 0969-2013 basically cover the classification and requirements described in EN 14683.

2020-03-27 10:05